You probably need more insurance coverage than you already have, but it costs less than you might think.
Kentucky law requires motor vehicle owners to insure those vehicles with certain minimum coverage. The legal minimum is $25,000 per person, $50,000 total per crash. The law also requires a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection or no-fault benefits.
I’ve been practicing car accident law for more than ten years and I can tell you that often, the state minimum limits aren’t enough. How much coverage you need can depend on how expensive your vehicle is, how much money you have, how expensive your home is, whether you own that home, and whether you own other property or assets that someone could get their hands on in a judgment.
For some, the legal minimum coverage is all they can afford. But if you can, I’d always recommend a) buying at least $100,000 per person, $300,000 per crash in liability coverage, b) underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage, and c) if you can swing it, added no-fault coverage.
The state minimum limits don’t go very far in light of how expensive the cost of medical treatment is nowadays. While I generally dislike insurance companies, I absolutely recognize the need for motorists in Kentucky to protect themselves as best they can from personal liability for injury claims. Car insurance is a great way to do that. What’s more, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage isn’t that expensive, and protects you in case you’re hurt in an accident with someone who only has minimum insurance coverage, or worse, no coverage at all.
If you have questions about liability insurance claims, give me a call at 502-633-6002. We’ve got the experience and knowledge to guide you through the process.